What is CUR8?

CUR8 is a youth group aimed at 12-24-year-olds based at Maidstone Museum and run by the on-site Learning Team. The group aims to give young people an opportunity to experience closer interactions with collections, behind the scenes activities, talks by visiting museum experts, tours of other museums, and much more.

CUR8 meets once a month – on the second Saturday of the month –  from 10.30am-12.30pm – with each session focusing on a specific area of study. These sessions provide a great opportunity to develop knowledge and experience, while many members often claim the chance to explore behind the scenes in our storerooms represents the most enjoyable part of their membership.

In addition to regular monthly sessions, CUR8 is involved in several major projects happening within the museum, contributing to essential work and research to further the experience delivered by Maidstone Museum.

Recent  projects featuring involvement by CUR8 include researching the life of women in Ancient Egypt as part of the Ancient Civilisations HLF project, a project linked to the life of the museum’s own Ta-Kush.

To find out more about joining CUR8, or if you’re interested in becoming a member, please contact us via email at museumeducation@maidstone.gov.uk or by submitting an online enquiry form below.

Cur8 Dates for 2020

Saturday 11 January

Saturday 8 February

Saturday 14 March

Saturday 18 April

Saturday 16 May

Saturday 13 June

Saturday 11 July

No session in August

Saturday 12 September

Saturday 10 October

Saturday 14 November

December session TBC